Greyhounds on WRTC

Austin-based Greyhounds were featured on the Feb. 13 edition of Greasy Tracks, including an interview with the band and a handful of tracks from its soon-to-be-released CD Change of Pace (Ardent Music).

'Hounds in Memphis:

‘Hounds in Memphis: Greyhounds, featuring keyboardist Anthony Farrell, drummer Anthony Cole and guitarist Andrew Trube at the Hi-Tone Cafe in Memphis in 2014. (John McHugh photo)

Go here for the spotlight.

The group, featuring keyboardist Anthony Farrell and guitarist Andrew Trube, formed nearly 15 years ago and has released a handful of albums, but has spent more time on the road, often playing 200-plus dates a year.

Despite primarily playing as a trio, Greyhounds have a big Memphis-meets-Austin sound — a soulful, bluesy-funk hybrid — tight, yet very loose.

They make their debut Connecticut appearance at Café Nine in New Haven on Feb. 27 and play the following evening at Atwood’s Tavern in Cambridge, Mass.

Farrell, who cites Booker T. Jones and Art Neville of The Meters as his primary influences, splits vocal duties with Trube who considers B.B. King as his favorite guitarist, but is quick to add “the other Kings” — Albert and Freddie — to the list. Austin-based drummer Dorian Colbert joins the duo on their winter jaunt for additional dates in Pennsylvania, New York, Ohio, Michigan, Illinois and Wisconsin.

Adding muscle to Mofro:

Adding muscle to Mofro: Anthony Farrell (left) and Andrew Trube along with sometime Greyhounds drummer Anthony Cole and J.J. Grey in concert.

In 2000, Farrell and Trube joined J.J. Grey & Mofro, the Jacksonville, Fla.-based soulful, swamp rockers and would appear on four studio and one live release before opting to focus solely on Greyhounds as the new year started. Change of Pace, due out on April 1 is their third release for Ardent Music, following the live Heaven on Earth (2015) and Accumulator (2014).

Earlier discs included Spring Training (2011), No Mas (2009) and Liberty (2004), which was recorded in New Orleans with Galactic’s Stanton Moore and Robert Mercurio producing and Ani DiFranco adding vocals on one track.

Comments are closed.